October 2, 2022


Botswana, officially the Republic of Botswana (Tswana: Lefatshe la Botswana), is a landlocked country located in Southern Africa. The citizens refer to themselves as “Batswana” (singular: Motswana), but many English-language sources use “Botswanan” instead. Formerly the British protectorate of Bechuanaland, Botswana adopted its new name after becoming independent within the Commonwealth on 30 September 1966. It has held free and fair democratic elections since independence.

Botswana is flat, and up to 70% is covered by the Kalahari Desert. It is bordered by South Africa to the south and southeast, Namibia to the west and north, and Zimbabwe to the northeast. Its border with Zambia to the north near Kazungula, Zambia is poorly defined but at most is a few hundred meters long.

Botswana Country Information:

(and largest city) Gaborone
25°40′S 25°55′E
Official languages


Ethnic groups

79% Batswana
11% Kalanga
3% Basarwa
3% Kgalagadi
3% White African
1% others



Government Parliamentary republic
– President Ian Khama
– Vice President Ponatshego Kedikilwe
Legislature National Assembly
– from the United Kingdom 30 September 1966
– Total 581,730 km2 (47th)
224,610 sq mi
– Water (%) 2.6
– 2010 estimate 2,029,307 (144th)
– 2001 census 1,680,863
– Density 3.4/km2 (229th)
8.9/sq mi
GDP (PPP) 2011 estimate
– Total $29.707 billion
– Per capita $16,029
GDP (nominal) 2011 estimate
– Total $17.570 billion
– Per capita $9,480
Gini (1993) 63 (high)
HDI (2010) Increase 0.633 (medium) (98th)
Currency Pula (BWP)
Time zone Central Africa Time (UTC+2)
– Summer (DST) not observed (UTC)
Drives on the left
Calling code +267
ISO 3166 code BW
Internet TLD .bw